Bath · DIY · Home Decor · Interior Decor · Interior Design

Summer Projects

Its time to make my summer “to do” list. A list of things I’d like to accomplish before EH goes back to school. He is enrolled in 2 half-day week camps. I am hoping that between those and the few day camps he wants to attend Ill be able to get at least one or two things started, if not totally finished.

First on my list is EH’s bathroom! It is currently in a 90’s wallpaper time warp. Id like to paint the walls Navy, update the pulls, replace the towel rings and paint the light fixture (currently brass).

Upstairs guest bath
Upstairs guest bath

Second is to finish the headboard in my master bedroom.

IMG_3639

One of the best things P and I did after getting married was to upgrade to a king size bed! This was also when I got the itch to start DIYing, so I built a tufted headboard. The final project was just what I had envisioned and lasted, until our cats decided the buttons were toys and one by one started plucking them off (nothing is safe with cats!) Over the years I have recovered the headboard several times (I bore easily). Since moving into the ASHouse our headboard is currently undergoing one more make-over. I have, yet again, recovered it, this time in drop cloth and added wings. The plan was is to tuft it, again, and add nailheads to the wings.

Third (and biggest job) would be the Master bath.

  • Remove the wallpaper and paint. Im thinking Benjamin Moore HC-114 (my favorite color!).
  • Hang the silver chandelier (I grabbed from my grandparents house) above the tub and add a dimmer switch.
  • There is also the issue of window treatments. I LOVE the light, but need some privacy. Plantation shutters just along the bottom would work (oh but so pricey).
Master Bath before
Master Bath before

As for the vanity…

  • 3 sconces set into the mirror on each side and the middle
  • 2 chinoiserie mirrors or frames layered on top of the mirror for dimension
  • new hardware
Master bath
Master bath

This is gonna be a HUGE make-over both in time and money. I am optimistic that I will at the very least be able to remove the wallpaper and paint. What a major difference just doing that would make!

Forth I hope to make white drapes accented with this trim for the upstairs guest bedroom

IMG_6608

As I start to tackle this to-do list I will share my progress, so please keep checking back for updates…

One thought on “Summer Projects

Leave a Reply

